Advocacies, Creative Writing, Uncategorized

I’m proud of my candidates

Prompt #16: Something you’re proud of in the past few days

Here’s something I’m not proud of: I missed 2 days of blog posts! Nevertheless, we trudge on!

Hmm, something I’m proud of, eh?

In questions like this, it would really take me days if I want the most meaningful answer. But, I’ll answer what came to my mind first. It isn’t about me. It’s about my friends who are running in the student council elections.

I’m pretty excited for them, actually. Running for the student council takes a lot of effort and guts. You have to face the studentry. You have to prepare yourself for questions that are actually interrogations on your identity and integrity. You have to prepare to be grilled and to get burned. The end of the campaign period actually feels like a resurrection, if you ask most student leaders. It’s really life-changing.

I’m proud of these people for taking that leap of faith. For stepping out of their comfort zone and into the world of campus politics. Being in UP, we all know how tough it can get, how unwholesome and ignoble it can be to fight in the political arena. But still, these people set aside their easy life out of the public eye and basically put themselves in front of everyone for unimaginable scrutiny.

I have a lot of friends in the different political parties both university-wide and college-based. I even have friends from opposing parties. And I’m excited how they’ll go through and grow through this amazing adventure.

The results may not be out yet and there’s still a few days of campaign, but the fact that they even said yes to running for their college or university–it already makes me proud of them.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

